Dealing with Daily Indignities

One does well not to dwell on the routine indignities of life. That said, I shall relate a minor one, freshly issued last week from the Indignity Assembly Line, Chicago Division.

It is a man vs. woman story. I play the man.

Typecasting.

I walked into the Adams Street entrance to Symphony Center in downtown Chicago at about 1:15. Lovely, sunny day, temperature about 80-degrees Fahrenheit. The concert would begin at 1:30. I wanted to go to the men’s room before the music began.

A long line slithered its way down the narrow hallway. The ladies’ room queue, of course. A few feet before its entrance was a male facility with no line. I turned left to enter the anteroom to my gender-appropriate W/C.

A short, trim woman, perhaps 70-years-old, stood in front of the door to the men’s room proper. I imagined she was waiting for her husband, though most partners do this by standing outside the anteroom, not within it. As I stepped in, she planted her feet and stretched out her arms as far as possible to block my way. An American football linebacker would have been impressed by a stance signaling her determination to stop me. Moreover, she was not wearing a helmet. In other words, no push-over.

“You can’t go in.”

“Excuse me?”

“There is a woman inside.”

“Oh.”

Not being an idiot, I gathered the reason had to do with the daisy chain of ladies a few steps away. I wasn’t in a rush, so I waited. The thought occurred to me, however, that the guardian might have directed her friend to another one of the many washroom facilities in the building. Or, if the trespassing lady were in urgent need, she (without assistance) could have gone to the door of her restroom, reported her distress to those nearby, and received the consideration my wife tells me is commonplace under such circumstances. These were among the many thoughts I had as I waited, coming and going in an instant.

A frail, white-haired man, bent forward with the weight of perhaps nine decades, walked slowly around me, his mission the same as mine. He probably didn’t recognize I was waiting to enter myself. The female guardian stopped him with a somewhat less aggressive stance than she took with me. I imagined the woman figured she could impede his forward progress with less effort, kicking him to the ground if necessary, or blowing him down like a big, bad, she-wolf.

He was given the same directive. He, too, would have to wait. Or else.

The assumption, of course, was that we were not in immediate need. Maybe the doorkeeper heard no grinding teeth, saw no crossing of legs, perceived no agonized distress in either of us, overheard no barking bladders. Neither did she ask.

Only a chunk more time passed before the men’s room opened to release its cheery occupant. She appeared unconscious of our presence. She began chatting with her buddy as if nothing remarkable had happened; as if she makes a habit of visiting whatever w/c suits her. The newly “relieved” woman did not look ashamed. Just unconscious or entitled or needy of immediate conversation with the she-wolf, to whom she began speaking.

Neither one of them thanked us. You are not thanked if you are invisible.

No other men entered and I quickly joked with the older owner of a Y chromosome that we had just witnessed the fall of the last bastion of male supremacy. He responded that it could be worse. We laughed. Both of us had experienced worse, for sure. I love an entertaining story and here was my daily allotment. More than adequate compensation for the short wait.

Matinee concerts have their own demographic. The audience tends to be old – really old – not within a discus throw of working age. Women outnumber men by a huge margin. Several reasons: many of the women are widowed, some of the more able-bodied men are still working, and other men are either watching sports on TV or yelling at kids to get off their grass. In other words, doing man stuff.

Indoor plumbing stations are of particular importance to us humans, a unique part of our mental space.

Earlier in life, when we were engaged in toilet-training, they’d been a battleground and a place where “accidents” lead to ultimate triumph. Once we are old enough to gauge storage-tank-capacity, we don’t think about them much. A little later, most of the time spent inside has to do with working on our appearance; chisel, sandpaper, and spray paint in hand.

Somewhere around middle age, physical changes cause men to notice the locations of the facilities more, think about ingesting less caffeine (because it is a bladder irritant), and the mental space I mentioned gets larger. We can no longer take for granted that will-power will prevent us from “peeing ourselves.” When the bell rings signaling the symphony players have five minutes before they must be on stage, the stream of male musicians waiting to take care of their nether regions can resemble a conga line.

As the older man in the men’s room said, “It could be worse.” It has been worse, much worse. It will yet be worse and also better, depending on the moment. Such is life.

Someone will cut you off in traffic, jump ahead of you in queue at a store, clobber you with their backpack, perhaps not even knowing anything happened.

Bigger personal indignities exist. You will, for example, get older and become less physically attractive. Your body will demand more maintenance, more stretching, gallons of sunscreen. As my primary care physician told me years ago, when I asked why my left knee meniscus tore, “things wear out.”

Or, you could be like the teen-aged version of my mom, who lived with her parents and three siblings. There were times, she told me, when five of them were awaiting the sixth to exit the smallest room in their apartment, to replace the person on the throne. The frustration built until finally, someone used the nuclear option, yelling:

“Break it off and get out!”

A younger woman with whom I’ve recently become acquainted tells me she can still do the splits, a different kind of evidence things could be worse. More power to her. On the best day of my life, I couldn’t do the splits. The only splits I ever thought about were banana splits.

I am not talking here about war and peace, revolution, obstruction of justice, climate change, flood, hurricane, corruption, tax fraud, marital infidelity, or the like. I’m not talking about financial disaster, homelessness, or malnutrition.

We don’t think much about it, but nearly all of us in the Western World have indoor plumbing. Mozart, whose music I heard at Symphony Center on the day in question, used a chamber pot.

The frail, white-haired, 90-year-old man had it right.

Don’t sweat the small stuff. You won’t get those 30-minutes of grumbling discontent back.

Have a banana split instead and drown your sorrows.

The top image is  of a Pink Bunny-Shaped Roadblock , near Narita, Japan; a 2010 photo by Hopefully Acceptable Username. The second photo is a Replica of the Capitoline She-wolf, Palazzo Senatorio, Rome. It is the work of Jebulon. Finally, a 1942/43 called Men’s Room Marines won’t Win This War  It came from the Office of Emergency Management. War Production Board. All are sourced from Wikimedia Commons.

19 thoughts on “Dealing with Daily Indignities

  1. Thanks, Dr. Stein! This column was a treat, food for thought and delightful at the same time. Warmly, Nancy Akerly

    Liberty Grove Paper Arts Sister Bay, WI 54234 http://www.libertygrovepaperarts.com

    >

    Like

  2. A nice wake up call. Loved it!

    Like

  3. Joan Chandler

    I told my kids when they were young that I would hold my tongue ten times when they spilled, broke, annoyed, etc., etc., etc. The eleventh time I got to yell and scream and make a fuss. I still facilitate between “what good does it do?” and “Boy, that felt good!”

    Like

    • drgeraldstein

      Did the kids learn to raise hell ten times, knowing you were a tower of restraint? I was not the saint you were, Joan.

      Like

  4. Loved this! 😀

    Like

  5. Funny 🙂 If I had a defender like your 70-year-old female guard, I’d sneak into the gents myself 🙂

    Like

  6. Hate to tell you, but I’ve played the role of your female antagonist many times! You have to address the gender anatomy (it takes us longer), gender longevity (we outlive you guys, so there’s more of us, as you allude to), and restroom disparity (we never ever have enough stalls). I will admit though not all my companions are as eager as I am to assume this role. But if there’s no line for the men’s room, I will not suffer silently in any daisy chain😀! Thanks for a good laugh. And be thankful I don’t live in C anymore or you may meet up with me guarding your door at the CSO!

    Liked by 1 person

    • drgeraldstein

      I will bet you’ve been a model of diplomacy in performing your honorable guard duty, Lois. The reasons you give are all good ones. Thanks, Lois.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I am guilty of utilizing a single toilet men’s room on a rare occasion when it was unoccupied, but I would never prohibit a man from entering his domaine. If the woman was in a stall, so what if a man entered the room? You and the other gentleman were good sports. 😊 I enjoy your personal stories.

    Like

  8. Imagine if the roles had been reversed and 2 men decided to temporarily occupy the women’s facilities. I think your tale would have had a totally different ending!

    Like

  9. Yikes. This made me both laugh and squirm. Sounds like the lady “guard” wasn’t in on the recent unisex bathroom wars. She has chutzpah! My experience with such situations has been standing in a long restroom line feeling desperate as my four-year-old son danced in place. Most people were nice enough to let us move forward.

    Like

    • drgeraldstein

      Laughing and squirming was expected, Evelyn. I thought, however, the creepiest line came in the privacy of my mother’s cued-up apartment. My guess is your family was less crude.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment