Eating and Shopping? Something Else to Think About on Thanksgiving

Today is the day Americans imitate a Roman orgy without the sex or the vomiting. Mostly we hope to embrace the ones we love, keep from assaulting family members we can barely tolerate, and jam down as much good food as our bodies allow. This is a symbolic repetition of a meal among Pilgrim immigrants and Native Americans in the early 17th century. We give thanks for the bounty, dear relationships, and any good fortune that comes to mind.

Then Americans watch football. That is, if we don’t fall asleep because of this “epic in bloat” (to quote Oscar Levant).

Thanksgiving is a lazy day except for the hostess or host, who work themselves to a nub preparing the feast. Ah, but the effort will be equalized when the slackers get up early tomorrow to shop for discounted merchandise. The day is called “Black Friday” because the merchants operating at a loss for the year “go into the black” (meaning they make enough money to turn a profit). Somewhere in all this there must be a comment on American values, but I’m already too tired to think about it.

So, if you are a layabout and don’t wish to get into anything heavy (since you’ll feel heavy enough), I have just the thing to pass the rest of your post-meal day.

Want to know what kind of music young adults are listening to? Check out the video above. Be sure to stick around for the punch line.

And “have a nice day.” Really.

 

6 thoughts on “Eating and Shopping? Something Else to Think About on Thanksgiving

  1. Hmmmmm – for me there was both sadness and hope in this video. I was disappointed that some of the interviewees felt as if they couldn’t access classical music. They had not been exposed or they thought it was not available to them. I don’t think I live in an exceptional part of the country yet the local media presents many opportunities to attend concerts. Kids also know how to create radio stations (on Pandora, for example) and could access it easily enough if they were curious enough. The sadness is that a) they haven’t been exposed and b) some are not curious enough to try it on.
    The hope comes from listening to the interviewees say they find classical music to be soothing, calming, mysterious, deep. One young man even referenced a sense of wonder and I liked hearing that.
    I grew up listening to classical music and my kids were exposed via me. My siblings all enjoy classical music and we have several classical musicians in the family (a couple of whom are under the age of 20). There is hope!
    And FYI – no shopping for anyone at my house. We will head over to the coast (where it might reach 55 degrees but it will be crystal clear and stunningly beautiful). The joys of NorCal living!

    Like

    • I appreciate your thoughtful take on the video, JT. The great shame is that the classical orchestra presenters have very little idea of what will fill the hall. The great Philadelphia Orchestra recently reported only 76% attendance. But, you are right, several of the young people were open to it. The coast sounds much better than the mall. Enjoy it!

      Like

  2. Dr. Stein, a happy “loafing” day!

    Interesting video clip. While I attend classical concerts (at an affordable admission) in my neighborhood, I don’t listen to classical music at home. I prefer to listen to the local radio station that plays the latest pop hits, excluding hip-hop and hard rock. This way, I stay in touch with the pulse of our young generations.

    Like

    • Rosaliene, you have correctly (and diplomatically) identified that I am among the beneficiaries of someone else’s domestic and culinary efforts, in this case my wife. As to music, I have no idea why I was open to it, other than because of a friend who introduced me to the classics when I was about 17. Enjoy the music and the dance of life and have a joyous day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Maybe they should bring back the ” Hooks on Classics” albums that were popular in the ’80 s’. I don’t know if you remember those but that was classical music revamped to appeal to the population back then. I suppose though the 80s is the ‘old days’ to young ones today. Who says albums anymore anyway?

    Like

    • I do remember “Hooked on Classics,” Claire. I also recall sets of a few LPs (another word gone into disuse) that claimed to give you the “really” great moments of several of the standard symphonic masterpieces and to save you time in so doing. That way, the ad went, you could listen to the best three minutes of Beethoven’s 5th Symphony without the bother of the allegedly less essential remaining 30 minutes! Vinyl records are actually making a comeback. Those interested in them are called “Hipsters.” As to saving the great symphony orchestras, if one could think of a way you’d be a major hero in the arts world.

      Like

Leave a Reply

